For-Hire Chauffeur License & Training Program

Chauffeur Registration FAQs

How can I apply for a chauffeur registration (hack license)?

All first-time applicants must bring their Florida driver's license. U.S. citizens must present a social security card, U.S. passport, U.S. birth certificate or certificate of naturalization. All non-U.S. citizens must present their social security card as well as valid resident card or work permit card. Those applying for private school bus require a physical examination, first aid certification and a 4-hour defensive driving certification.

Those applying for NE, STS, PMC and jitney require a physical examination, and a 4-hour defensive driving certification. STS also requires the physical examination AND a medical examination form. The FDOT long form is accepted in lieu of the physical and medical examination form.

Where can I get a physical examination and 4-hour defensive driving certification?

The physical and medical examination can be done at your primary physician, or at any clinic/urgent care. The 4-hour defensive driving certification (aka Basic driver improvement course) can be done online, or at a traffic school.

Do private school bus drivers need a CDL "P" endorsement?

If you are driving 15 or more passengers a CDL "P" endorsement is required by the state of Florida. This endorsement is enforced by law enforcement.

Initial Registration fees

Limo	1 year	\$90.00	2 years	\$145.00
Taxi	1 year	\$103.00	2 years	\$158.00
NE/STS, PMC, Jitney	1 year	\$102.00	2 years	\$157.00
School Bus	1 year	\$125.00	2 years	\$180.00

How long will it take to receive my chauffeur registration?

Chauffeur registration will be issued as long as the applicant meets criminal and DL background requirements of the Miami-Dade County Code. If you are applying for limousine, you will receive your chauffeur registration right after processing application in person. If you are applying for any other industry (Taxi, SB, NE/STS, PMC, Jitney), you must first pass a 1-day training program, Academy for Chauffeur Excellence and Service (ACES). When you come in to apply with all required documents, we will schedule you for the next available class as well as issue a booklet for you to study. Once you have passed the exam, you will be issued the chauffeur registration.

What happens if I don't pass the exam?

If you don't pass the exam the first time around, you will be able to take it as many times as necessary. Each retake exam has a fee of \$15 that must be paid the morning of exam.

How do I renew?

To renew you need to bring your Florida driver's license, renewal fee and fill out the application. For NE/STS, PMC, and Jitney you are required to bring an updated physical examination. STS also requires an updated medical examination. Private school bus drivers must bring an updated first aid certification and physical examination.

Renewal Registration fees

1 year \$65.00 2 years \$120.00

*LATE FEE: \$55 (day after expiration) LOST OR STOLEN: \$26.00 Address change is free of charge.